Welcome Guest. ( logon | register )   
FAQ Member List Albums Today's Posts Search

PointedThree :  Vans, Trucks, SUVs and Other Forums : G-Class : 3rd row seating installed

Page 1 of 1 1
3rd row seating installed
Topic Tools Message Format
Author
Posted 1/26/2015 7:36 PM
po-porsche
Regular

Date registered: Jan 2011
Vehicle(s): 2003 Mercedes G500, 1984 Porsche 911
3rd row seating installed

On and off for the past twelve months I have been researching a possible third row option for my 2003 G500. The G was plenty big when we only had the two kids. But with number three on the way, we felt we needed a little more room. It wasn't that the baby seat wouldn't fit inbetween the boys. Because, based on my approximations, I think it would. Rather, we were more concerned that there would be no way for my wife to sit next to the baby since neither my 6 year old, nor my 4 year old would be sitting in the front any time soon. And, since we live in NYC we spend a lot of time in the car stuck in traffic. So, the ability to sit next to the baby is critical (for feeding, changing, etc.).

Initially, I got a little creative in my search. At one point I thought about doing a serious modification and putting the 3rd row from an ML into it. But, that seemed like too much of a headache to try to figure out. Then, I considered what I thought would be an easier mod and hacking in some Land Rover jump seats (just because they are cheap). But, I soon came to the realization that that too would also be a huge headache. Then I found a used pair of factory option jump seats at a great price. However, I was most concerned with the safety since my intention for a 3rd row wasn't for occasional usage. But, rather, I intended to use them for every day seating for my boys. So, I focused on seating that were fixed and that would work with shoulder belts.