OT: Sierra Club
Topic Tools Message Format
Author
Posted 2/19/2007 5:35 PM
Ducks

Date registered: Dec 1899
OT: Sierra Club

Warning: No G content

I’m new to off-roading.  What is your opinion of the Sierra Club?

So this should probably be in the off-topic section but since I doubt too many people from here frequent there, I thought I would at least initially ask the question here.  This is the most knowledgeable and friendly online off-road group I know of.  Of course people are here because of a common interest in Gs and appear to span the political spectrum (which is kinda cool). 

I’m a member of a conservation group but want to do more to help protect the environment and habitat.  I was thinking about joining the Sierra Club because they are a strong environmental lobby but also seem friendly to hunting.  But then I read their policy on off-road vehicles.  Doesn’t seem too friendly.  So are they completely against all off-road use or do you think their target is more focused? I used to work for the Forest Service and “uncontrolled” off-road use is a major issue.   Just trying to gain a perspective on the politics of off-road use.  Any recommendations on groups to look into?

Cheers,
Chad

Edited by Ducks 2/19/2007 5:48 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 2/19/2007 5:54 PM
DUTCH
Administrator Doppelgänger

Date registered: Apr 2006
Vehicle(s): 2015 Audi Q7 3.0 TDI,2018 Sprinter
RE: OT: Sierra Club

Ducks - 2/19/2007 5:35 PM

Warning: No G content
I’m new to off-roading. What is your opinion of the Sierra Club?
So this should probably be in the off-topic section but since I doubt too many people from here frequent there, I thought I would at least initially ask the question here. This is the most knowledgeable and friendly online off-road group I know of. Of course people are here because of a common interest in Gs and appear to span the political spectrum (which is kinda cool).